Makeup has been part of my morning routine since middle school. Recently, I’ve learned some disturbing facts about conventional makeup brands and the ingredients which they use.

As a result, I began making a conscious effort to “clean up” my beauty routine. This gradual transition began about two years ago when I started purchasing natural/eco-conscious products when my conventional ones ran out.

The picture below shows the result of my transition.

unnamed-23

Conventional Makeup

  • Encompasses most mainstream makeup brands
  • Found at both drug/grocery stores and department stores
  • Contain non-renewable petroleum-based ingredients along with a slew of questionable chemicals

unnamed-22

Since our skin absorbs what we put on it, it’s important to invest in more natural products. I still have a long way to go, but I’m slowly making progress.

The Impact

  • If you think about the millions of humans who wear makeup on a day-to-day basis, the environmental impacts add up. For example, certain ingredients like aluminum or lead require mining. This damages ecologically important areas (such as the Amazon rainforest). Now, think about all the chemicals washed down the sink. They end up in natural bodies of water and our public water systems.

YOU Can Make a Difference

  • I strive to make a positive difference by purchasing products that aren’t as detrimental to the environment and my health. “Voting with your wallet” by purchasing makeup from ethical and sustainable brands.

unnamed-21

The brands I’m featuring:

  • Use natural ingredients
  • Care about the environment
  • Do not test on animals
  • Have decent results according to the SkinDeep database http://www.ewg.org/skindeep/
    • For those of you who are concerned about the ingredients in your beauty products, this website reveals the toxicity level of each ingredient. It rates the product on a scale of 1-9. When researching a product, I like to check out its rating. This influences whether I end up purchasing a product. It’s also interesting to look up current products and discover safer ones.

Maracuja Creaseless Concealer

  • Skin Deep Rating: 2unnamed-18
  • Bamboo packaging
  • $25
  • Excellent coverage due to thick consistency
    • A little goes a long way!

 

Skinny SmolderEYES Eyeliner

unnamed-10

  • Skin Deep Rating: 1
  • Color: Jade
  • Highly pigmented
  • Creamy-smudges easily
  • Wood pencil (better alternative to the plastic ones)
  • Vegan
  • At tartecosmetics.com, a single pencil is $19
  • I bought a 5 piece set on sale (last year) for around $18-20 from tartecosmetics.com

My Thoughts: I LOVE Tarte Cosmetics. This high-end brand is a bit pricy, but considering the quality and sustainable focus, I think their products are a good value. I appreciate that they formulate makeup without parabens, mineral oil, phthalates, triclosan, sodium lauryl sulfate, and gluten.

Tarte Lights Camera Lashes 4-in-1 Mascaraunnamed-8

  • Skin Deep rating: N/A (old formula was 4)
  • Lengthening, curling, volumizing, and conditioning
  • My first natural mascara
  • $21 on tartecosmetics.com

Burt’s Bees Lip Crayonunnamed-16

  • Not listed on Skin Deep
    • (Burt’s Bees tinted lip products range from a 2-4)
  • Color: Sedona Sands
  • 100% natural
  • Can be found for as low as $4.59
  • By 2020 the company wants to be carbon free, operate on 100% renewable energy, and have no waste deposited in landfills.
  • Energy efficient manufacturing- zero waste

Physicians Formula Organic Wear Bronzer

unnamed-14

  • Skin Deep Rating: 2
  • Good for a matte natural glow
  • Not highly pigmented (ideal for lighter skin tones)
  • 100% natural and 15% organic
  • This makeup line is affordable compared to most natural/organic products
  • 93% less plastic than traditional compacts
  • Can be found at most drugstores for as little as $8.39

Physicians Formula Organic Wear Loose Powderunnamed-15

  • Skin Deep Rating: 3
  • Provides even coverage and oil protection
  • Be careful: Too much can create a chalky appearance
  • Price starts at $8.39 online
  • Value: I’m not a loose powder fan, but this product is a much better value when compared to the Honeybee Gardens natural pressed powder I previously used.
  • I’m currently using an ecoTOOLS powder brush which I absolutely adore.

Mineral Fusion Eye Pencil (Azure)

  • Skin Deep Rating: 1unnamed-9
  • I bought mine from Whole Foods for about $14
  • I would repurchase this pencil in a heartbeat
  • I typically apply this eyeliner to my waterline.
  • Since its mineral based, it doesn’t last as long, but it’s perfect for those going for a natural look.
  • If you know you’ll be hot and sweaty, refrain from use
  • This brand uses wind power, soy inks, packaging from recycled materials, and packaging that’s recyclable
  • #1 natural cosmetic brand

Honest Face and Body Lotionunnamed-13

  • Skin Deep Rating: 1
  • I like to apply this to my face before applying makeup
  • On days I want more coverage, I’ll mix it with my foundation and create a tinted moisturizer
  • Perfect consistency
  • I received this product as part of a sample kit from honest.com
  • This brand utilizes renewable energy, recycles, sources sustainable ingredients, and much more.
  • https://www.honest.com/about-us/health-and-sustainability

screen-shot-2016-12-26-at-6-49-50-pm

The look.

