My Mod Podge obsession began one summer in high school. My best friend and I were bored so we bought a few wooden letters, picture frames, a variety of colorful scrapbook paper, and a giant bottle of glue (aka Mod Podge).

  • We simply cut a few pages of scrapbook paper into shapes, applied a thin layer of glue on the object we were decorating, placed the pieces of paper on the sticky surface, and applied a sealing layer of glue on top.

unnamed-1

Once the scrapbook paper ran out, I started using pages from old Lilly Pulitzer planners. There were so many beautiful colored pages and I couldn’t bear to throw them away. I tore out the beautiful patterned pages and put them to use. I Mod Podged a few picture frames, large letter decorations, birthday cards, and more. I gave away most of my creations as gifts for my close friends.

unnamed-6

Once I had used up my personal planner pages, I asked my friends for their old Lilly planners and continued my newfound hobby. Eventually, those pages ran out and my friends had moved beyond the Pulitzer planner phase. I wanted to continue using Lilly Pulitzer paper though. Luckily, I discovered expired planners at a local boutique for only $5 (normally these planners cost around $30).

unnamed-5

Recently, I realized that Patagonia catalogues make excellent Mod Podge material. Upon arriving home after attending college for a semester, I had a pile of these catalogues waiting for me. I knew I wasn’t going to read them and I nearly threw them in the recycle bin. Before doing so, I quickly flipped though one and realized that most of the photos were Mod Podge makeover material.

Screen Shot 2017-01-09 at 11.34.08 AM.png

 

 

I had an idea. I would give my unsightly, childhood memory chest a Mod Podge makeover.

unnamed-2

I went to work cutting out magazine pages and pasting them on top of the tacky leopard print pattern. Half an hour later, an entirely new chest was born!

unnamed-3

What a wonderful way to reuse pretty paper and turn trash into treasure.

